Windows Server Major Versions (part 3) - ByteScout
  • Home
  • /
  • Blog
  • /
  • Windows Server Major Versions (part 3)

Windows Server Major Versions (part 3)

read the first part here

read the second part here

Windows Server 2008 and Windows Server 2008 R2

Windows Server 2008 was released after five years of Windows Server 2003. Its code name was “Longhorn”. Windows Server 2008 and Windows Vista share their code base. It includes advanced security, management, networking and administrative features of Windows Vista. It supported .NET version 3.0 and can accommodate windows workflow foundation, windows communication foundation and windows presentation foundation.
Windows Server 2008 R2 was released in year 2009. Microsoft announced the server equivalent of Windows 7 and at Professional Developer’s Conference in the year 2008. R2 contains all the advanced features tantamount to the desktop Windows 7 edition.

Windows Server 2012 and Windows Server 2012 R2

Windows Server 2012 was introduced in September 2012. Focus of this version was to improve existing management, security and administrative tasks of the window server along with providing a Server based equivalent version of Windows 8. It has improved installation options and flexible administration. It contains improved Active Directory structure and provides excellent IP Address Management techniques.